A NEW CHAPTER IN LIFE

by sleeplessinbcn

Although Oslo is the only place I consider “home”, I have always dreamt of moving abroad someday. I have never found the courage to actually do it, but now, at 21 years of age, I finally feel ready for some changes.

I saw a quote I really loved the other day, and it read “Nothing screws you up more than thinking you’re supposed to have your shit together at your 20s”. Some people already have their whole lives planned out at their early 20s, and good for them! At one point of my life, I have also been one of those people. I learned that by doing so, you are setting yourself up for disappointments, because believe me, life can and will hit you in the face. I thought I had my life all planned out and put-together not too long ago, only to find out that life doesn’t really go by our rules and premisses and most of the time, plans don’t work out the way you want them to. Not always having a plan, isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It means that you have more time to travel, explore and learn about yourself, your strengths and weaknesses. When you don’t have parents or teachers telling you what to do, you will learn to take responsibility for your choices on your own. You will grow and learn how to stand on your own two feet. The lessons in life are just as important and valuable as the ones you learn in school.

When I finally told my friends and family about my recent decision, everyone hit me with their own versions of “why?”, and my answer was simple: Why not? Time is passing us by like sand in a hourglass, and while I do not know what the future might bring, there is one thing I do know for certain; I do not want to live through my 20s, not being able to remember what I did last week, because everyday is becoming more and more like a routine. While I still can, I want to make new memories and be able to remember every second of every day. I can’t wait to begin a new chapter of my life, learn a new language, expand my knowledge about other cultures and to embrace all the experiences and really grow as a person. And even more than that, I can’t wait to be reunited with the other half of this crazy tiny little gang of two!

IMG_2369.JPG
From my last trip to the city, I soon can call home. Fell completely in love.

– xoxo, A